Team Divisions and Conferences


There are two conferences in the National Football League. They are the National Football Conference and the American Football Conference. Each conference contains sixteen teams each, making a total of thirty-two teams in the league. The conferences are broken into four divisions: North, South, East, and West. The current National Football Conference or NFC title holder is the Seattle Seahawks. The current American Football Conference or AFC title holder is the New England Patriots.

The teams in the NFC East are the Dallas Cowboys, New York Giants, Philadelphia Eagles, and the Washington Redskins. The NFC North contains the Chicago Bears, the Detroit Lions, the Minnesota Vikings, and the Green Bay Packers. The NFC South contains the Atlanta Falcons, the Carolina Panthers, the New Orleans Saints, and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Lastly, in the NFC West, the teams are the Arizona Cardinals, the St. Louis Rams, the San Francisco 49ers, and the Seattle Seahawks.

The teams in the AFC East are the Buffalo Bills, the Miami Dolphins, the New England Patriots, and the New York Jets. The teams in the AFC North are the Baltimore Ravens, the Cincinnati Bengals, the Cleveland Browns, and the Pittsburgh Steelers. The AFC South consists of the Houston Texans, the Indianapolis Colts, the Jacksonville Jaguars, and the Tennessee Titans. Finally, the AFC West contains the Denver Broncos, the Kansas City Chiefs, the Oakland Raiders, and the San Diego Chargers.

Article Written by: Erin Irish


Leave A Reply