Denver Broncos Franchise History


The Denver Broncos have become one of the most successful teams in the NFL, but they’ve travelled a long road to get there. The team was formed in 1960 as a charter member of the AFL (American Football League) West. They are based in Denver, Colorado, where their stadium, Sports Authority Field at Mile High, is located, and their headquarters is in Dove Valley, Colorado. During their first 10 years, they really struggled. Actually, they were terrible, and over the course of those 10 seasons they won only 39, lost 97, and tied 4 games.

In 1970, the NFL and AFL merged into one league, becoming just the NFL. The Broncos became part of the West division of the American Football Conference. After the merger, they didn’t immediately and miraculously achieve success, but as the years progressed, so did their unity and desire for victory. In 1973, they finally had a winning season. Since 1975, the Broncos have had 36 winning records out of 40 seasons. In 1977, they made the playoffs for the first time in their history and went on to their first Super Bowl against the Dallas Cowboys. They’ve made eight Super Bowl appearances in their history, and 2015 will mark their ninth appearance.

Article Written by: Erin Irish


Leave A Reply